+friday night flashback: bon jovi+

Two weeks ago, when I was still posting on my old blog, I was at work trying to think of a good song to post as my weekly Friday Night Flashback. So I surveyed my coworkers for ideas, and this is what they came up with. Sadly, ye olde bloge died that Friday and I could not post it. But alas, here it finally is, in full glory: your Friday Night Flashback.
Bon Jovi – Living on a Prayer (from Slippery When Wet, 1986)

After “Living on a Prayer” by Bon Jovi was suggested and approved that day in the office, my coworkers and I spent the rest of the workday singing various lines, delighting in the key change at the end of the song, and wondering what ever happened to Tommy and Gina. This song used to be my favorite song of all time. But what did I know? I was only in the fourth grade. Now that I watch the video, my God is it awful. The serious, desperate story of Tommy and Gina is sung over visuals of the members of Bon Jovi flying around in harnesses, hamming it up for the camera, and generally acting like dumbasses. And must they show Jon touching hands with an audience member every time they sing the line “take my hand”? *sigh*

Here’s hoping next week’s flashback involves a lot less Aqua Net hairspray.

~ by Jennifer Cunningham on September 21, 2007.

2 Responses to “+friday night flashback: bon jovi+”

  1. Videos like this make me hate life.

  2. Understandable. It’s really, really bad.

Leave a Reply

 
