+the night starts here+

My new albums I bought. Let me show you them.
Stars - In Our Bedroom After the War

Federico Aubele - Panamerica

M.I.A. - Kala

Made a quick trip over to the local shop last week to pick up the new Stars album (In Our Bedroom After the War) and the new one by Federico Aubele (Panamerica), and I ended up getting the new M.I.A. album (Kala) too.

Quite liking the Stars album so far, though it sounds a bit too 70s for my taste in parts. (There’s a definite BeeGees vibe on “The Ghost of Genova Heights.”) “The Night Starts Here” is probably my favorite track. “Personal” is, to me, a bit creepy. The way they deliver the vocals, the lyrics, the subject matter…*shudder* Overall, though, a solid effort from Stars here.

The new Federico album… I loved Gran Hotel Buenos Aires, so I had grand expectations for this new one. The music seems to have lost a lot of the electronic/sampling element that was present on the first album, but it has also lost some of the stranger and more obscure elements, which I think is a step in the right direction. The songs still groove, though, and the music is absolutely chill.

I don’t know why I decided to get Kala, considering every song I’d heard from it before buying it, I considered pretty crappy. Perhaps it was the discount sticker on the top right corner. It was worth the couple bucks, I would say. Maya’s vocals are more a part of the music this time around. Lots of repetition both vocally and musically. I found myself straining to figure out if some of the songs even had a chorus or verses. I don’t think it’s as catchy and fun as Arular, but I do think it’s gonna be a grower.

Currently listening to… M.I.A. – ‘Mango Pickle Down River’

~ by Jennifer Cunningham on October 2, 2007.

2 Responses to “+the night starts here+”

  1. “It was worth the couple bucks, I would say”

    You put that in there just to annoy me. I know you did.

  2. I annoy because I love, my darling.

Leave a Reply

 
