+friday night flashback: primitive radio gods+

Alright, so it’s not Friday anymore, but I fell asleep early on the couch last night and never got around to posting the Friday Night Flashback. But it’s my blog, dammit, and if I want to post the flashback on a Saturday, then I’m doing it.

This week’s flashback really brings back specific memories for me. I was living in Tulsa in the summer of 1996. I had just finished my freshman year in college, and I was working nights as a seater at Casa Bonita (yes, the Mexican restaurant with a waterfall and caves and all of that). It wasn’t a very glamorous job, but I liked the friends I made there and remember the summer fondly. Every night I would drive home after work, and every night “Standing Outside a Broken Phone Booth with Money in My Hand” by Primitive Radio Gods would come on my radio. I grew to love the poignant groove of the song, as it was the perfect accompaniment to my drive on all those stormy Oklahoma summer nights.  Even the video reminds me of living near the Tulsa airport and growing accustomed to the constant sound of planes overhead.

I’m not sure why I thought of this song recently…I think it just came to me as I was trying to fall asleep. But I miss this song. And sometimes I even miss that summer.

Here ya go. Primitive Radio Gods – “Standing Outside a Broken Phone Booth with Money in My Hand” from the album Rocket (1996).

~ by Jennifer Cunningham on October 20, 2007.

Leave a Reply

 
