+old school really is old school+

This afternoon I was listening to my iPod when one of my favorite rap songs of all time came on–“My Philosophy” by Boogie Down Productions. And at the end, when KRS-One says, “Fresh for ’88, you suckas!” I realized…

This song is 20 years old.

I was in the fifth grade when that song came out. I owned a BDP album on cassette. I mean, Jesus.

20 years ago, people. And only recently have I begun to dislike modern rap music. Kris says “A lot of suckas with colorful names. I’m so and so, I’m this, I’m that. Huh. But they’re all just wi-wi-wack.” Indeed, KRS, indeed. I miss this kind of music.

~ by Jennifer Cunningham on January 12, 2008.

Leave a Reply

 
