+friday night flashback: belly+

Tonight’s Friday Night Flashback artist, Belly, comes to us directly from a formative time in my life…my sophomore year in high school. That and the two years to follow were some of my most difficult, and it was music like this that carried me through. It may sound cheesy, but I truly loved Belly. The lead singer and founder of the band, Tanya Donelly, was practically a hero to me. Not only did she have perfect, bouncy hair, but she also played guitar and wrote some wonderful songs rich with metaphors and hidden meanings. Stomping and swaying around in her print dresses and army boots, Donelly was a rock star every angsty young girl growing up in the 90s could emulate.

In 1993 Belly released the album Star, leading off with the single “Feed the Tree.” It may sound quaint or silly now, but people adored that song at the time. It was a staple on the alternative MTV shows, and the album received two Grammy nominations. That song led me to buy the album, and I was surprised to find the rest of the record just as poignant and pleasant. I listened to it…a lot…and I still love listening to it. “Dusted,” “Stay,” and “Star” sound as beautiful to me now as they did then. And so, to celebrate this band, album, and song that most people have surely forgotten, here is tonight’s flashback.

“Feed the Tree” by Belly, from the album Star (1993).

~ by Jennifer Cunningham on January 25, 2008.

2 Responses to “+friday night flashback: belly+”

  1. erm..it says the stream is no longer available lol. 93′..I wasn’t in high school yet. but I ended experiencing the same fate (don’t 80% of post-middle school kids do?) you did during my own stint. at that time, Loser (Beck), was the constant track the dj was playing. pair that up with, Creep, and you have your Anthem(s) of the Year for everyone to talk about.

  2. I got a message that the video wasn’t working, but then I refreshed the page and it was fine. Maybe try that?

    I remember when “Loser” was big. Everybody thought “I’m a loser, baby, so why don’t you kill me” summed up both Generation X and Kurt Cobain’s suicide.

    And although I tried, I didn’t get into Radiohead until after Kid A. Shameful, I know, but better late than never, right?

Leave a Reply

 
