+friday night flashback: hope of the states+

It doesn’t seem right to flashback to a song and band from the year 2004, but Hope of the States are no longer around and nobody I know ever listened to them anyway. Their debut album The Lost Riots was preceded by the suicide of their dear friend and guitarist, and the band split up only a few years later.

I very much remember watching Subterranean on MTV2 and hearing “Black Dollar Bills” play. I was doing something else at the time (probably ironing clothes), and the song caught my attention to the point that I went and sat in front of the television. The overwhelming sadness of the song coupled with an almost hidden hopefulness knocked me over. The album as a whole has some beautiful, even majestic, moments, but nothing can top this song. It will always represent Hope of the States for me. It was a quick run, but they crafted some extremely heavy music in that short time, and for that, I appreciate them.

This is “Black Dollar Bills” by Hope of the States, from the album The Lost Riots (2004).

~ by Jennifer Cunningham on February 15, 2008.

Leave a Reply

 
