+diamondbacks!+

So last week I had the flu and missed three days of work. What is a girl to do when she can’t move off the couch? Watch The Deadliest Catch marathon, of course! Oh yeah, and watch the best team in baseball, my hometown boys, the Arizona Diamondbacks!

I believe this is the first time I’ve ever blogged about sports, but I promise this is still music related. You see, the D’backs have this outfielder named Eric Byrnes.

Exhibit A:

As you can tell, he’s pretty awesome.

Anyhow, every time he goes up to bat, they play the beginning of the song “Your Love” by The Outfield. Remember that song?

Exhibit B:

What kind of balls does it take to make this the song you hear every time you walk up to the plate? It’s both an obnoxious and admirable move on Byrnes’ part. I tip my hat to you, sir.

But do you have any idea, after watching games all last week and weekend, how many times I’ve heard the intro to this song now? It’s a good thing Byrnes hit a two-run homer to put the D’backs on top last night. Otherwise, this song might start getting a wee bit old.

~ by Jennifer Cunningham on April 22, 2008.

3 Responses to “+diamondbacks!+”

  1. Stephen Drew has a better song.

  2. First of all, I’m jealous you live in ‘Zona. I’ve been to Scottsdale and Tuscon, and I could live there (besides the fact that it felt like I was on the Moon the first time I saw the jagged landscape-it felt almost alien coming from this East Coaster used to rolling hills and green valleys). Second of all, it must be nice to have a team worth following-I’m stuck out here with two teams within 20 miles of me, and neither is worth following (The Nats and O’s).

    Lastly, thanks for posting that vid-haven’t heard it in ages!

    ~Sham aka Dave

  3. Thanks for the comment, Sham. That’s definitely slim pickin’s you’ve got there for baseball! I’ve enjoyed becoming a full-fledged D’backs fan this year. It didn’t hurt that they started off the season so well.

    And yes, it does look like the moon out here. I live near an area called Moon Valley, actually. It’s a far cry from where I used to live in Georgia, that’s for sure.

Leave a Reply

 
