+friday night flashback: simple minds+

I was standing in the chip aisle at the grocery store last weekend when tonight’s Friday Night Flashback came on over the loudspeakers. Usually I can be found dancing and singing down the cereal aisle to some bad 80s r&b (alarmingly, my boyfriend has video evidence of this on his cell phone), which is what the store usually plays over the speakers, but finally…they had played a true gem of a song. I showed my respect by not dancing as I purchased a Family Sack of chips.

This song’s a classic, though I remember reading long ago that the band nearly didn’t record it. They thought it was horrible, predictable, and trite. That’s probably why it went straight to #1 in the States.

“Don’t You (Forget About Me)” by Simple Minds, from the original soundtrack of The Breakfast Club (1985).

~ by Jennifer Cunningham on May 9, 2008.

Leave a Reply

 
