+friday night flashback: jody watley+

I’ve been wanting to post some Jody Watley as the Friday Night Flashback for a few weeks now, but I’ve been too busy playing video games and doing other nonsense to get around to it.

But now that it’s Friday again, think back with me, if you will, to 1987. Me, I was just a little kid in the fourth grade. My family had moved from the rural (and I do mean rural) midwest to Detroit, and as a budding music fan, I could not get enough of big city radio. It was such a new experience to be able to listen to something other than country music or my mom’s Hall & Oates vinyl. And the big city radio played Jody Watley, and I thought she was just awesome. I bought her first album on cassette, and quite honestly, the album was pretty solid throughout. That same year we moved back to my tiny hometown in the middle of nowhere, and my Jody Watley tape went with me. Sadly, one of my tape players ate the tape. I spent hours and hours with a screwdriver and Scotch tape trying to put that thing back together again so it would play at least a few songs. All to no avail.

Hard to believe that was 20 years ago. Ms. Watley’s debut album was sassy and sexy, sold over six million copies, and won her a grammy for best new artist. She was definitely one of my favorite artists back in the day. Hope you guys enjoy tonight’s flashback. The dated clothing in it alone is worth watching it for historical purposes.

This is “Don’t You Want Me” by Jody Watley, from her self-titled debut album (1987).

~ by Jennifer Cunningham on June 20, 2008.

Leave a Reply

 
