+robyn!+

No lie, I woke up this morning thinking, “I should have Robyn week on my blog.” And then I was checking my e-mail and saw a promotion for a Robyn concert. I took it as a sign. Let’s talk about Robyn, shall we?

Longtime readers of my blog (all 2 of you…) will remember when I posted the video for Robyn’s song “Konichiwa Bitches.” People were amused, impressed, intrigued. And all this time later, Robyn’s latest album has finally been released here in North America. I picked up my copy a couple weeks ago, and it’s so good.

I know, I know. For some reason, it’s considered uncool in the U.S. to like pop music. Rightfully so, perhaps. There has been some truly terrible shite released as pop “music.” I get it. And you may remember when Robyn was a teenage sensation back in the 90s with her song “Show Me Love.” But I’m telling you, people. Robyn’s new record is pop music at its best. Actually, I’d say it’s pop with an electro pulse. And a parental advisory sticker. Never before has someone sounded so adorable and smooth while dropping the f-word.

So do it for yourself. Do it for me. Do it for Robyn. Open Internet Explorer (it’s sponsored by MSN so that’s the only way to open the video as far as I can tell) and head over to watch some of Robyn’s concert live from the Wiltern in Los Angeles. I dare you not to fall in love. The beats sound crisp, Robyn’s hair is amazingly, crazily blonde, and she’s just so much fun to listen to, dammit.

Here’s the link! Robyn in Concert

Don’t know where to start? “Konichiwa Bitches” is always good times, as are “Who’s That Girl” and “Cobrastyle.” Finish up with an energizing dose of “With Every Heartbeat.”

Now. Time to find out where I can get me one of those dresses that looks like a cape…

~ by Jennifer Cunningham on June 24, 2008.

Leave a Reply

 
