+my guernica (and more kittens)+

Due to moving and other varieties of ridiculousness, I have been without an Internet connection for a week. Oh, the humanity! I won’t lie. It was horrible. But here we are again.

And here I am again, listening to the Manic Street Preachers. A lot. In fact, I’m listening to them right now. And I’m listening to a song that I feel is probably underappreciated in the Manics catalogue–‘My Guernica.’

A quick search of wikipedia reveals the likely inspiration for this song–the Spanish Civil War–which was also the basis of ‘If You Tolerate This Your Children Will Be Next.’ I guess it’s a song about feeling terrorized and treated as if you’re disposable. And judging from the ingredients that go into an Ice-breaker, you don’t have to be a peasant to feel assaulted in that way. Add an allusion to T.S. Eliot, and you’ve got a powerful little song.

I’m small and I’m tired
I’m blurred to bits and wired
I’m nothing in this universe
Nothing but pieces of dust
Appearing in more repeats
The mirror man has seen defeat
Hide away, be old and grey
Alfred J. Prufrock would be proud of me

Keep it together – hold it together
Keep it together – hold it together
Little someone in my own little Guernica
Sleep so heavy that it’s out of the question
Little someone in my own little Guernica
Wake up and pour myself another ice-breaker

Going now so happy and so loose
Making bigger holes in my stomach
Losing losing split down the middle
With no end and no beginning
I’m small and I’m tired
I’m blurred to bits and wired
I’m nothing in this universe
Nothing but pieces of dust

Keep it together – hold it together
Keep it together – hold it together
Little someone in my own little Guernica
Sleep so heavy that it’s out of the question
Little someone in my own little Guernica
Wake up and pour myself another ice-breaker

If all that’s too much of a downer for you, included here are some photos of the wee ones that run about on my dining room floor and wrestle each other all the time, providing much entertainment. As a follow-up to my last post, the orange kitten has still not been christened with a proper name. To this day, he remains Little Man, though Scratch Fury: Destroyer of Worlds nearly won out.

So crazed, they had to be restrained
null

Nap practice
null

Matilda: the only cat so excited that she scampers and pounces her way into a litter box

Possibly the cutest kitten picture ever taken…

Little Man, curious about cameras (also a candidate for cutest kitten picture)

Alright, well, I managed to talk about the Spanish Civil War and post kitten pictures in the same breath here. Back to listening to my Manics and endless unpacking.

~ by Jennifer Cunningham on July 30, 2008.

Leave a Reply

 
