+these are a few of my favorite things+

Dear 2009,

How do I love thee? Let me count the ways.

U2 – No Line on the Horizon
nloth1
Any time U2 releases a new album, it’s a jubilee year for me. This record has a lot of depth to it, and I’m very much looking forward to the tour. “Get on Your Boots” and “Breathe” live are gonna be fantastic.

Manic Street Preachers – Journal for Plague Lovers
033archivesofpain
Over at the Manics’ official site, they’ve got a tracklisting up for their newest release, Journal for Plague Lovers, which will feature lyrics left behind by disappeared guitarist and writer, Richey Edwards. Like their opus magnum The Holy Bible, this new album will also feature cover artwork by the incomparable Jenny Saville. Track titles include the intriguing “Jackie Collins Existential Question Time” and “Virginia State Epileptic Colony.” May 19 cannot get here soon enough. (And credit once again to Reubenchives over at lj for the banner used in this post.)

Placebo – Battle for the Sun

Have a listen to the new Placebo single, “Battle for the Sun,” and then head over to their official website to download it and see the tracklisting for the new record. For those counting at home, that makes three for three of my favorite bands releasing albums this year. This one hits stores June 9.

Tori Amos – Abnormally Addicted to Sin
toriabnormal
Four for four? Why not? 17 new tracks from Tori are set to be heard worldwide May 19.

Blue October – Approaching Normal
bluenormal
It’s always good to have a new Blue October album to sink my teeth into. Released this week. Really digging the single “Dirt Room.”

Pet Shop Boys – Yes
psbyes
Also released this past week, it’s another stunner from the Pet Shop Boys. *sigh* I love them. That’s all I need to say, really. Neil Tennant = one of the best voices in all of musicland.

I think it should be clear by now why I’m so damn excited about music this year. Releases by some of my all time favorite artists ever in the history of Earth. Excellent.

That having been said, let’s end this post with the new Pet Shop Boys video for Love, Etc. Neil in bouncing ball form. Genius! Enjoy. 🙂

~ by Jennifer Cunningham on March 27, 2009.

2 Responses to “+these are a few of my favorite things+”

  1. What do you think of the new Placebo album? I have a friend who’s way into them who was kind of disappointed by it, but I haven’t heard it myself yet, so. You know.

    Also, we need to hang like. Well, I was going to make a joke about Nuremberg Nazis, but it seemed in poor taste.

  2. The album just came out yesterday in the States, so I’m still making my way through it. Considering how Meds grew on me over such a long period of time, I’d best reserve judgment for a while on this one. “For What It’s Worth,” and Brian’s new look, are early favorites though.

Leave a Reply

 
